New Exhibition: War Works

The exhibition was due to open last November, but the pandemic meant it was not able to open – but now it can. 

 

An exhibition of prints, sculpture, installations, and video inspired by his interest in the First World War’s memorials and rituals, such as The Cenotaph and Two Minute Silence, and how they affect how we see later conflicts such as ‘the war on terror’.

 

Despite the seriousness of the subject and the studiousness of Dunnico’s interest in it, the art is full of dark humour and barbed comment in the tradition of ‘Oh What A Lovely War’, and Spike Milligan’s war memoirs. We are so familiar with symbols of remembrance such as the Poppy, it takes art like this to jolt us into looking, thinking and questioning what we take for granted. For many people it will be an education.

Meet the artist – every Saturday 2 to 4pm
Because of the Coronavirus we will not be having an opening event, but I will be at the gallery every Saturday from 2 to 4pm to say hello and even give you a personal tour if you want one. 

About the Gallery

Air Gallery is close to Altrincham Metrolink/interchange – turn right as you come out and Grosvenor Road is the first on your right – There is pay and display street parking around the gallery. 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram