New Exhibition: War Works

5 to 28 November 2020, Air Gallery, 30 Grosvenor Rd Altrincham, WA14 1LD

 

An exhibition of prints, sculpture, installations, and video inspired by his interest in the First World War’s memorials and rituals, such as The Cenotaph and Two Minute Silence, and how they affect how we see later conflicts such as ‘the war on terror’.

The exhibition coincides with the annual Remembrance Day commemorations, which this year mark the 75th anniversary of the end of the Second World War, and the Centenary of the permanent Cenotaph in Whitehall and Tomb of the Unknown Warrior in Westminster Abbey.

 

Despite the seriousness of the subject and the studiousness of Dunnico’s interest in it, the art is full of dark humour and barbed comment in the tradition of ‘Oh What A Lovely War’, and Spike Milligan’s war memoirs. We are so familiar with symbols of remembrance such as the Poppy, it takes art like this to jolt us into looking, thinking and questioning what we take for granted. For many people it will be an education.

Free Opening Event: Saturday 7 November 2020.
Open to all, but please book through Eventbrite: 
https://war-work.eventbrite.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram