Past Exhibition: War Works

The exhibition was due to open in November 2020, but the pandemic meant it did not open until April 2021. It ran until May 2021 at Air Gallery in Altrincham. There were two books that complimented the exhibition: War Work, which details the artworks displayed in the exhibition and War Games, which is a series of essays about war and remembrance. Both books are available to download or buy in my shop.

 

An exhibition of prints, sculpture, installations, and video inspired by his interest in the First World War’s memorials and rituals, such as The Cenotaph and Two Minute Silence, and how they affect how we see later conflicts such as ‘the war on terror’.

 

Despite the seriousness of the subject and the studiousness of Dunnico’s interest in it, the art is full of dark humour and barbed comment in the tradition of ‘Oh What A Lovely War’, and Spike Milligan’s war memoirs. We are so familiar with symbols of remembrance such as the Poppy, it takes art like this to jolt us into looking, thinking and questioning what we take for granted. For many people it will be an education.